Know All About The Diamond Jewellery 4 C"s

105 4
Diamond Jewellery, for example Diamond Eternity Rings, Diamond Engagement Rings and Diamond Earrings, are all graded by the quality of diamonds that are set inside. These can then be categorised as the quality of colour, clarity, cut and carat weight, otherwise known as The Four C's.

The most universally accepted method of grading diamonds as well as other gemstones, is that governed by the Gemological Institute of America, or the GIA.

1. Colour

This is produced when light is dispersed when passing through the gemstone into a spectrum of different colours, known as "fire". The less the amount of colour hues present, then the greater the fire and more worth the gemstone will be.

D. Totally colourless. No Colour.

E. Colourless. Very small traces of colour.

F. Colourless. Very Slight colour detected.

G-H. Diamonds are near-colourless. The colour is noticeable only when compared to the above better grades.

I-J. Near-colourless. Some colour is slightly detectable.

K-M. Noticeable colour. Very faint to faint yellow-brown tint.

N-Z. More noticeable colour. Faint to more tinted yellow-brown tint.

2. Diamond Clarity

Diamonds have natural inclusion bodies that are unique in number and situ in every example of the gemstone. This is the way in which the GIA grade the clarity, and the less the number of inclusions present, basically the greater the clarity, and therefore the more valuable the stone.

IF. Internally flawless and have no surface blemishes when viewed under 10x magnification.

VVS. Very, very, slightly included, and similar if any surface blemishes, that are difficult to see when viewed under 10x magnification.

VS. Very slightly included and/or similar amount of surface blemishes, that are difficult to see when viewed under 10x magnification.

SI. Inclusions and external blemishes are easy to locate under 10x magnification.

I. Medium or large internal bodies or external blemishes that are easily seen with the naked eye.

3. Diamond Cuts

The cut of a gemstone does not really refer to its shape such as round, square or pear, but the way in which it has been faceted by the cutter. The better the quality of cut, the more sparkle and brilliance that will be produced.

The types of these facets allows different amounts of light to be seen as "sparkle" by bouncing the light around internally.

If the cut of the diamond is too deep, some light will therefore escape through the opposite side of the pavilion (lower section of stone), but if it is too shallow, then light escapes through the pavilion before it can be reflected.

4. The Carat Weight

No matter what the shape of a diamond, the carat weight will vary depending upon the type of cut. If a it has has been cut shallow, although it will seem to be the standard weight when viewed from above, it will in fact have a lesser carat weight than if it was cut to standard proportions. Like wise, if it is cut deeper than normal, it will have a heavier weight than if it was cut to normal proportions. Some stones will be cut to larger crown (top) proportions, while the depth will be smaller to gain extra size without the extra cost.

The Conclusion

If you are after a specific diamond but the price is beyond your budget, then it can be still achievable (or maybe nearly), if you look at compromising on one of the four C's to achieve your goal.

Whichever diamond you have or may wish to have, then as with all other gemstones, please wear them as much as possible. They are not meant to be kept hidden away for nobody to see!
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time
You might also like on "Business & Finance"

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.