codefund.com

Auto Insurance Laws in Texas

103 2
As with most states, Texas law requires motorists to have a liability policy in order to pay for accidents that they are found to be at fault.
Liability is a form of coverage that pays to repair or replace the other party's property and medical expenses up to the amount stated on the policy.
The minimum limits required are as follows:
  • $25,000 for bodily injury to one person
  • $50,000 for bodily injury to more than one person
  • $25,000 for property damage per accident
Keep in mind that this is coverage does not cover the policyholder for any losses that they incur.
Also be aware that these are the absolute minimums and with the high cost of medical care this may not be sufficient to cover the expenses resulting from a traffic accident.
If medical bills exceed the amount stated on the policy, the insured can be sued for the difference.
If within one's budget it is wise to consider purchasing higher limits.
It is always important to carry proof of auto insurance at all times while operating a vehicle.
Proof of financial responsibility will need to be available when:
  • Requested by a law enforcement officer
  • Registering a vehicle
  • Involved in an accident
  • Obtaining or renewing a driver's license
  • Having cars inspected
Not complying can have penalties.
Some of which may be more costly than having the vehicle insured in the first place.
A fine between $175 and $350 can be issued for a first conviction and subsequent convictions can cost up to $1,000, suspension of drivers license and the impounding of the automobile.
Source...
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time
You might also like on "Insurance"

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.